Butterfly Path

20121011-161952.jpg
Isn’t she pretty?!? I finished this quilt in the beginning of August and put it in my county fair’s Quilt Show. I literally finished it right before it had to get dropped off… Yikes, I’m not cutting it that close ever again!

20121011-162401.jpg
The fabrics are all from the collection Papillon by 3 Sisters for Moda. This is 100% Butterfly, from the top to the backing to the binding. I used a chevron pattern (and I didn’t have to use any triangles!) by Crazy Mom Quilts.
This is quilted stitch in the ditch style, which you can really see on the back. The only thing I’m not uber crazy about is the binding. Its just not the right shade to me, but I can live with it.

20121011-163148.jpg
This was a huge milestone for me. It was the very first quilt that I actually “quilted.” I mean, there was no way that I could have tied it with this pattern. I think it turned out pretty well overall!
In the end, the Fair Judges placed me second in the Junior’ Division. Which is pretty good most of the time, except when there are only two people in your category. At least I didn’t get second out of one (and yes, I know someone that that has happened to.) On the plus side, I got the Creativity Award! I really wish I could see my score sheet so that I know what I could improve on, but o well.

20121011-163900.jpg
*please ignore the icky indoor photos*

2 thoughts on “Butterfly Path

  1. Pingback: A Happy Ending | Thready Bear Quilts

  2. Pingback: Finally Free | Thready Bear Quilts

Leave a Reply

