Gold Digger

G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S is what I was going for with this mini!

20130905-210415.jpg
Gold Digger was made in response to the NYC MOD Double Wedding Ring Challenge. It was something I wanted to try for a while so I decided why not??
To create the rings I made my own English Paper Piecing (EPP) templates, using this pattern. This was my first go at EPP and I was pretty pleased with it.

20130905-211119.jpg
I used three various gold metallics to get the “gold digger” feel, and of course I don’t have selvage with the exact name or anything to go off. I then appliquéd silver metallic “diamonds.” What can I say, I like BLING! After the ring was complete I appliquéd it to my “something blue” background. The background and binding are both Color Weave by P&B Textiles.

20130905-211422.jpg
The hand quilting was done with a gold metallic Gutterman thread. I crosshatched the insides, trying to offset the curves of the ring. I left the outsides empty. I love the look of my big stitches!

20130905-212018.jpg
I couldn’t be happier with Gold Digger and I hope to try the DWR again soon!

Gold Digger Official Stats:
Name: Gold Digger
Size: 18″ Square
Fabrics: various metallics, Color Weave by P&B Textiles
Techniques Used: EPP, appliqué, hand-quilting

How to Be a Gold Digger

One thought on “Gold Digger

  1. Pingback: Bloggers’ Quilt Festival: Golddigger | Thready Bear Quilts

Leave a Reply

