Of Mice and Men

This past week, I had no motivation to sew. Period. I was not home so I planned to work on my only hand project at the moment, my Alligator Quilt. It didn’t happen. I haven’t worked on that for almost a year!

When I got back home, I had grand, romantic ideas of finishing my Tennessee Waltz Quilt. I did get the columns put together so now it just needs borders. The issue is, though, that the quilt disgusts me at the moment. I mean I love the pattern and love the fabrics even more, but it is the quality. I can’t believe I planned to enter this in a show! It passes the “Gallop and Grin” rule but I just can’t stand it, at least for he moment.

To ease my disgusted-ness, I decided to cut into some of my uber cute Oinkadoodle Moo by Jenn Ski for Moda. I bought a kit a while back to make a simple panel quilt, but I was looking at the directions first (for once!). and realized that I would have some upside down animals…We just can’t have that now can we? So I made my own pattern up!

20130916-000159.jpg
I came up with a simple star pattern. My goal was to make this quilt with accuracy in mind and I was so set on that thought that I was starching simple HSTs! I was all prepared for my new star quilt and I thought it was going to be the cutest thing in the world. But, you know what they say about the best laid schemes…. I was so upset that the star wasn’t noticeable! So back to the drawing board I went.

Of course I had already cut most of my stash into right triangles so I knew I had to selvage what I could. I came up with a new idea, which lead to some fussycutting.

20130916-000917.jpg
Hopefully my plan works well… If it doesn’t thats $50 down the drain!

20130916-001059.jpg
I’m having fun improv piecing these “interesting” sashing. Isn’t it funny how I was once all about accuracy and now I’m onto improv??

20130916-001301.jpg
It is certainly hard to create a pattern from a kit… What a fun challenge that would be! Any takers??

Leave a Reply

