Trashion

I’m sorry being so quiet lately. Its been kind of crazy around here. In between work, visiting family, and getting ready for a big event this weekend, there has been little time for sewing. You know what they say about life; its what happens while you’re busy making other plans. And boy have I been making plans! But for now my grand schemes must remain contained in the depths of my quilty mind!

As I just mentioned, this weekend I have a big event. Luckily, I didn’t have to do any planning so my main focus has been on my outfit. I have always been one to beat to my own drum so my dress was a bargain find from etsy.com. Its a beautiful full black dress with big, bold flowers on it. I love it! And the best part is its vintage!
I’m a rather short lady so I ended up having to hack off quite a bit of the hem line. I was able to keep all the remanents, and with them, I wanted to make a cute hair bow.

20130926-213744.jpg
I made the bow as I went along, using multiple tutorials as a starting off point. I made it completely by hand and it took me about an hour. The netting on the top was once part of the lining and I think it adds great texture! I love how it turned out.

20130926-215153.jpg
(How about that fancy-schmancy editing!)

One great aspect of my entire ensemble for the evening is that its all eco-friendly. The dress was used way back in the 70’s. The bow was fabric that would have been thrown away (egad!!). That, my friends, is what I call “trashion!!”

Leave a Reply

