Its All About the U!

Its no secret that auction-goers love quilts and my Alma Mater’s annual auction no different. I offered to make a quilt, so I created my own pattern that would reflect the school. Here’s what I came up with:

20140106-095918.jpg
So I started out by foundation paper piecing the lettering. I’ve been using Quiet Play’s Just My Type alphabet. I am not an expert paper piecer but everything is going smooth. I actually really love paper piecing, which is something I never thought I’d say!

20140106-100511.jpg
I drafted the block U myself and am now in the process of attaching the U to its background. Of course I used my go-to method of appliqué, freezer paper. I am not quite halfway done with this part.

20140106-100957.jpg
The entire quilt will be made using Town and County by Pepper Cory for Studio E, mainly in the green and gold brush stroke print. I’m taking my time on the quilt because our auction isn’t until November. Hopefully it will be a hit!

On a separate note, my LQS was having a nice sale over the weekend to move some old fabrics to make room for the new stuff. Of course I took advantage and bought some half yard cuts for a new project. My new project is a 30s farm scene that I’ve had floating in my mind forever so I’m finally getting down to it.

20140106-101801.jpg
The 30s prints are from various collections. I love 30s prints because they are so soft and nostalgic. The green is an uber soft textured solid from the Peppered Cottons line.

Leave a Reply

