A Progress Filled Week

Happy Hump Day Everyone! I hope everyone is staying warm; it has warmed up to a solid 4* here.

I am happy to say that this week has been a lot more productive than last week. I spent a whopping four hours making Lori Holt’s Vintagey Farm Girl Tractor. Even though it took forever I am ecstatic over the results!

20140122-100614.jpg
I used the classic John Deere yellow and green for a few reasons. One: who doesn’t love John deere? Two: its an American classic. And three (which is probably the most important): my grandpa.

Grandpa was in high school when he bought his first tractor, a 1937 John Deere. The tractor was soon too small to do any mass amounts of farm work, but he still kept the little tractor. When he retired, his tractor got a new life and a fresh coat of paint. This quilt block is more or less dedicated to this family tractor.

20140122-101742.jpg
There’s something about a tractor that I just love!

In between sewing, I’ve been trying to finish up my first knitting project, my Sherlock Scarf. My goal is to be done my Friday!

20140122-102123.jpg
I am onto my second skein, so I’m officially half way done! Whoop!

I can’t help but laugh because I want my scarf finished so I can move onto another project. But here’s the funny part: I remember telling a friend that I started knitting and he warned me that I would want to move on to bigger and better things. I scoffed at it then, but look where I am now!

20140122-102406.jpg

Remember to follow me on Instagram @threadybear or #threadybearquilts

-Linking up to WIP Wednesday and Yarn Along

4 thoughts on “A Progress Filled Week

  1. I love the quilt block and the scarf looks awesome. Are you just doing garter stich on the scarf all in that blue? And your friend was right, once you start it’s really difficult to stop knitting but it’s so much fun!

  2. Pingback: One Skein Down | Thready Bear Quilts

Leave a Reply

