Another Barn Has Risen

I’m excited to say that this week is looking productive as well!

I was able to finish Lori Holt’s Quilty Barn and Furrow block for my 30s Farm Quilt.

20140128-164728.jpg
This block wouldn’t have taken so long if it hadn’t been for the flying geese. It was one corner that just wouldn’t behave; I spent 2 hours working on it and that was just during one sitting. I ended up getting it to behave a little better but its not as good as I would like. I hate flying geese. Remind me to avoid them at all costs.

20140128-165531.jpg
For the quilt, I’m planning on doing a medallion type design. The center will actually be three large blocks; this is the final center block. The general layout will be something like this (please ignore the shadows!):

20140128-165912.jpg
The bare spaces will be filled with farm-y stuff. That’s where you guys come in! What kind of animals would you see on a farm? (Ones that can be pieced into 5-6″ blocks.). My list includes cows, sheep, chickens, and pigs… Any ideas?

20140128-171654.jpg
I’m so excited to see how this turns out!

Remember you can follow me on Instagram @threadybear and #threaybearquilts.

Linking up to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

5 thoughts on “Another Barn Has Risen

  1. What a cute block! I totally hear your frustration on Flying Geese though. I recently picked up one of those new Loc Bloc rulers to help me out, and it made a huge difference! I definitely recommend them. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

